Afghanistan Will Play T20 World Cup, Preparations On: Media Supervisor


With an eye fixed on the present turmoil in Afghanistan, questions have been raised on whether or not the crew can be able to take part within the upcoming T20 World Cup. However the Afghanistan Cricket Board has made it clear that the crew can be prepared for motion when the showpiece occasion will get underway in Dubai. Chatting with ANI, the Afghanistan cricket crew’s media supervisor Hikmat Hassan mentioned there isn’t any doubt on the subject of collaborating within the T20 World Cup and the board is eager to go forward with a tri-series involving Australia and West Indies to assist in preparations for the showpiece occasion.

“Sure, we are going to play within the T20 World Cup. The preparations are on and the obtainable gamers can be again to coaching in Kabul within the subsequent few days. We’re searching for a venue for the tri-series involving Australia and West Indies and that would be the finest preparation for the showpiece occasion. We’re talking to some nations like Sri Lanka and likewise I believe Malaysia. Let’s examine how that pans out.

“We’re already set to play Pakistan in Hambantota and that sequence can also be on. Additionally, we’re planning to go forward with the home T20 event which shall increase preparations for the gamers forward of the T20 World Cup,” Hassan mentioned.

Requested if the board officers had a phrase with Rashid Khan or Mohammad Nabi as they aren’t within the nation at current, he mentioned: “We’re all the time there to assist our gamers and their households. We are going to do no matter is feasible for them. Issues are usually not affected a lot in Kabul, we’re already again within the workplace, so there may be nothing to fret about.”

Coming again to the T20 World Cup, the 2 teams for the event, chosen on the idea of crew rankings as of March 20, 2021, see defending champions the West Indies pooled together with former champions England, Australia and South Africa in Group 1 of the Tremendous 12s, with two qualifiers from Spherical 1 becoming a member of them.


Group 2 will comprise of former champions India and Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan and the opposite two qualifiers from Spherical 1. Eight groups will contest the primary spherical together with computerized qualifiers Sri Lanka and Bangladesh with the remaining six who booked their spot by means of the ICC Males’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2019.

Eire, Netherlands and Namibia be part of Sri Lanka in Group A, while Oman, PNG and Scotland will face Bangladesh in Group B.

Subjects talked about on this article

Articles You May Like

Kyrgios, Tsitsipas fined after fiery 3rd-round match
Sources: Freeman fires reps who led negotiations
Joker’s wild: Nuggets, Jokic agree to $270M deal
ACC latest to drop divisions, starting in 2023
British Grand Prix: Carlos Sainz on pole in thrilling wet qualifying

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.