Vuelta a Espana: Caruso wins stage 9 as Roglic extends total lead

Defending Vuelta champion Primoz Roglic smiles

Damiano Caruso turned the primary rider to assert a mountain stage on two completely different Grand Excursions this 12 months as he received stage 9 of the Vuelta a Espana.

The Bahrain-Victorious rider, who got here second on the Giro d’Italia in Might, produced an outstanding solo trip as he crossed the road in 5 hours, three minutes and 14 seconds.

Defending champion Primoz Roglic got here second to extend his total lead.

Enric Mas, who completed third, is now 28 seconds behind the Slovenian.

Caruso spent the ultimate 70km of the 188km stage from Puerto Lumbreras to Alto de Velefique out in entrance, and whereas he confronted strain from Roglic and Mas in direction of the tip, the 33-year-old held agency to take his second particular person Grand Tour stage victory, having additionally claimed stage 20 of this 12 months’s Giro d’Italia.

Mas launched a spirited assault within the closing 4 kilometres however Roglic out-sprinted him to beat the Spaniard by a second.

With the six seconds he earned for ending second, in comparison with the 4 awarded to Mas, he prolonged his lead over the Spaniard by three seconds.

Miguel Angel Lopez is one minute and 21 seconds behind Roglic in third, with Jack Haig one minute and 42 seconds again in fourth.

Giro champion Egan Bernal is one minute and 52 seconds behind in fifth whereas Nice Britain’s Adam Yates strikes into sixth, two minutes and 7 seconds off Roglic.

Stage 9 outcomes

1. Damiano Caruso (Ita/Bahrain Victorious) 5hrs 3mins 14 secs

2. Primoz Roglic (Slo/Jumbo-Visma) +1min 05secs

3. Enric Mas (Spa/Movistar) +1min 06secs

4. Jack Haig (Aus/Bahrain Victorious) +1min 44secs

5. Miguel Angel Lopez (Col/Movistar) similar time

6. Adam Yates (GB/Ineos Grenadiers)

7. Gino Mader (Swi/Bahrain Victorious) +2min 7secs

8. Giulio Ciccone (Ita/Segafredo) +2min 10secs

9. Egan Bernal (Col/Ineos Grenadiers) similar time

10. David de la Cruz (Spa/UAE Crew Emirates) +2min 40secs

Common classification standings after stage 9

1. Primoz Roglic (Slo/Jumbo – Visma) 34hrs 18mins 53secs

2. Enric Mas (Spa/Movistar) +28secs

3. Miguel Ángel Lopez (Col/Movistar) +1min 21secs

4. Jack Haig (Aus/Bahrain Victorious) +1min 42secs

5. Egan Bernal (Col/Ineos Grenadiers) +1min 52secs

6. Adam Yates (GB/Ineos Grenadiers) +2min 7secs

7. Giulio Ciccone (Ita/Segafredo) +2min 39secs

8. Sepp Kuss (US/Jumbo – Visma) +2min 40secs

9. Felix Grosschartner (Aut/Bora-Hansgrohe) +3min 25secs

10. David de la Cruz (Spa/UAE Crew Emirates) +3min 55secs

Articles You May Like

Kyrgios fined $10K for spitting toward spectator
NHL Power Rankings, way-too-early edition: The first look at 2022-23
Lewis Hamilton shows pace as Carlos Sainz tops British Grand Prix practice
Poston stays hot, up 2 in Deere Classic after 62
Dodgers’ Betts returns after 15-game absence

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.