Vuelta a Espana: Caruso wins stage 9 as Roglic extends total lead

Defending Vuelta champion Primoz Roglic smiles

Damiano Caruso grew to become the primary rider to assert a mountain stage on two completely different Grand Excursions this yr as he gained stage 9 of the Vuelta a Espana.

The Bahrain-Victorious rider, who got here second on the Giro d’Italia in Could, produced an excellent solo experience as he crossed the road in 5 hours, three minutes and 14 seconds.

Defending champion Primoz Roglic got here second to extend his total lead.

Enric Mas, who completed third, is now 28 seconds behind the Slovenian.

Caruso spent the ultimate 70km of the 188km stage from Puerto Lumbreras to Alto de Velefique out in entrance, and whereas he confronted strain from Roglic and Mas in the direction of the top, the 33-year-old held agency to take his second particular person Grand Tour stage victory, having additionally claimed stage 20 of this yr’s Giro d’Italia.

Mas launched a spirited assault within the remaining 4 kilometres however Roglic out-sprinted him to beat the Spaniard by a second.

With the six seconds he earned for ending second, in comparison with the 4 awarded to Mas, he prolonged his lead over the Spaniard by three seconds.

Miguel Angel Lopez is one minute and 21 seconds behind Roglic in third, with Jack Haig one minute and 42 seconds again in fourth.

Giro champion Egan Bernal is one minute and 52 seconds behind in fifth whereas Nice Britain’s Adam Yates strikes into sixth, two minutes and 7 seconds off Roglic.

Stage 9 outcomes

1. Damiano Caruso (Ita/Bahrain Victorious) 5hrs 3mins 14 secs

2. Primoz Roglic (Slo/Jumbo-Visma) +1min 05secs

3. Enric Mas (Spa/Movistar) +1min 06secs

4. Jack Haig (Aus/Bahrain Victorious) +1min 44secs

5. Miguel Angel Lopez (Col/Movistar) identical time

6. Adam Yates (GB/Ineos Grenadiers)

7. Gino Mader (Swi/Bahrain Victorious) +2min 7secs

8. Giulio Ciccone (Ita/Segafredo) +2min 10secs

9. Egan Bernal (Col/Ineos Grenadiers) identical time

10. David de la Cruz (Spa/UAE Staff Emirates) +2min 40secs

Common classification standings after stage 9

1. Primoz Roglic (Slo/Jumbo – Visma) 34hrs 18mins 53secs

2. Enric Mas (Spa/Movistar) +28secs

3. Miguel Ángel Lopez (Col/Movistar) +1min 21secs

4. Jack Haig (Aus/Bahrain Victorious) +1min 42secs

5. Egan Bernal (Col/Ineos Grenadiers) +1min 52secs

6. Adam Yates (GB/Ineos Grenadiers) +2min 7secs

7. Giulio Ciccone (Ita/Segafredo) +2min 39secs

8. Sepp Kuss (US/Jumbo – Visma) +2min 40secs

9. Felix Grosschartner (Aut/Bora-Hansgrohe) +3min 25secs

10. David de la Cruz (Spa/UAE Staff Emirates) +3min 55secs

Articles You May Like

Keys, Coric out of Wimbledon due to injuries
GM Myers: Warriors’ goal to bring everyone back
Barcelona unveil new gold away kit inspired by Olympic glory
Preece earns repeat Truck Series win at Nashville
Hill says he got death threats for Mahomes talk

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.