Vuelta a Espana: Odd Christian Eiking takes purple jersey as champion Roglic crashes on stage 10

Roglic drops to third in the general classification standings, two minutes and 17 seconds behind Eiking

Norway’s Odd Christian Eiking changed defending champion Primoz Roglic because the chief of the Vuelta a Espana after the Slovenian’s crash on stage 10.

Roglic fell on the descent into Rincon de la Victoria to ultimately end 11 minutes 49 seconds behind stage winner Michael Storer of Australia.

Eiking now holds a 58-second lead over Frenchman Guillaume Martin within the normal classification.

Roglic slips to 3rd, two minutes 17 seconds behind the Norwegian.

Crew DSM rider Storer, 24, produced an excellent experience to solo to his second stage victory of this yr’s race after also claiming stage seven.

It may have been a lot worse for Crew Jumbo-Visma’s Roglic, who’s aiming to win his third successive Vuelta a Espana, because the 31-year-old rapidly remounted to complete with a number of different contenders, together with Movistar duo Enric Mas and Miguel Angel Lopez, and Jack Haig of Crew Bahrain Victorious.

Roglic is now chasing purple jersey holder Eiking – who trailed the Slovenian by 9 minutes 10 seconds firstly of the stage – and Martin, with Mas and Lopez rounding out the highest 5.

Ineos Grenadiers rider Egan Bernal, 24, slipped additional within the total standings with the Giro d’Italia champion now 4 minutes 46 seconds off the lead.

Stage 10 outcomes

1. Michael Storer (Aus/Crew DSM) 4hrs 9mins 21secs

2. Mauri Vansevenant (Bel/Deceuninck-Fast-Step) +22secs

3. Clement Champoussin (Fra/AG2R-Citroen Crew) identical time

4. Dylan van Baarle (Ned/Ineos Grenadiers)

5. Odd Christian Eiking (Nor/Intermarche-Wanty-Gobert Materiaux)

6. Jhonatan Narváez (Eu/Ineos Grenadiers) +51secs

7. Nicholas Schultz (Aus/Crew BikeExchange) identical time

8. Geoffrey Bouchard (Fra/AG2R-Citroen Crew)

9. Lilian Calmejane (Fra/AG2R-Citroen Crew)

10. Kenny Elissonde (Fra/TrekSegafredo)

Basic classification standings after stage 10

1. Odd Christian Eiking (Nor/Intermarche-Wanty-Gobert Materiaux) 38hrs 37mins 46secs

2. Guillaume Martin (Fra/Cofidis) +58secs

3. Primoz Roglic (Slo/Jumbo-Visma) +2min 17secs

4. Enric Mas (Spa/Movistar) +2min 45secs

5. Miguel Angel Lopez (Col/Movistar) +3min 38secs

6. Jack Haig (Aus/Bahrain-Victorious) +3min 59secs

7. Egan Bernal (Col/Ineos Grenadiers) +4min 46secs

8. Sepp Kuss (US/Jumbo-Visma) +4min 57secs

9. Adam Yates (GB/Ineos Grenadiers) +5min 1sec

10. Felix Grosschartner (Aut/Bora-Hansgrohe) +5min 42secs

Articles You May Like

Kane Williamson Hopes For ‘Healing’ In Yorkshire Racism Row
Schauffele marks anniversary with Travelers win
Buckeyes land another WR in four-star Rogers
Teary Freeman gets ring, ovation in Atlanta return
US Open doubles size of wheelchair field in 2022

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.