Women’s Tour: Lorena Wiebes sprints to a dominant victory to take stage two in Harlow

Lorena Wiebes wins stage two

Lorena Wiebes recovered from an opening-day crash in model as she sprinted to a dominant victory on stage two of the Ladies’s Tour.

However Wiebes, who rides for Crew DSM, justified her standing as favorite for Tuesday’s 92km stage, which began and completed in Harlow, Essex.

Italy’s Barbara Guarischi beat Shari Bossuyt of Belgium to take second.

“In the event you odor the end line, I suppose you could have extra motivation,” stated Wiebes.

Stage one winner Clara Copponi, who rides for FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope, completed in sixth spot to retain the general lead.

Wednesday’s 107.9km stage takes place within the county of Gloucestershire, beginning in Tewkesbury and ending in Gloucester.

Wiebes, who gained the RideLondon Classique final month, was concerned in a multi-rider accident within the ultimate few hundred meters on the opening day in Bury St Edmunds, ending her possibilities of claiming each a stage win and the occasion’s first chief’s jersey as she completed eighty fifth.

She has now moved up into third within the general standings, 4 seconds behind France’s Copponi and one second behind the Netherlands’ Maike van der Duin in second.

Britain’s Sammie Stuart, a firefighter who was making her debut within the occasion with the Cams-Basso workforce, attacked to take the lead with 47km to go, however was caught with 20km remaining.

American Lily Williams and Gladys Verhulst of France then held a slim benefit over the peloton after a counter-attack, at the same time as a crash break up up the chasing group.

However the main duo had been handed within the ultimate three kilometres as Wiebes took management.

Normal classification after stage two:

1. Clara Copponi (Fra/FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope) 5hrs 59mins 06secs

2. Maike van der Duin (Ned/Le Col-Wahoo) +3secs

3. Lorena Wiebes (Ned/Crew DSM) +4secs

4. Sofia Bertizzolo (Ita/UAE Crew ADQ) +7secs

5. Elena Cecchini (Ita/Crew SD Worx) +8secs

6. Barbara Guarischi (Ita/Movistar) +8secs

7. Shari Bossuyt (Bel/Canyon/SRAM Racing) +10secs

8. Alison Jackson (Can/Liv Racing Xstra) +11secs

9. Maria Giulia Confalonieri (Ita/Ceratizit-WNT Professional Biking) +12secs

10. Arianna Fidanza (Ita/ Crew BikeExchange-Jayco) +14secs

Around the BBC iPlayer bannerAround the BBC iPlayer footer

Articles You May Like

India vs Leicestershire, Tour Match, Day 4 Live Score Updates: Shubman Gill Hits Fifty, Leicestershire Steady In Chase Of 367
Avs favorites to lift Stanley Cup again in 2023
GM Myers: Warriors’ goal to bring everyone back
Sources: 76ers trading No. 23 for Grizz’s Melton
Sources: Commanders, WR McLaurin reach deal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.