Ranji Trophy 2021-22 Semi-final: Bengal Stay In Hunt But Madhya Pradesh Firm Favourites


Skipper Abhimanyu Easwaran’s unbeaten 52 after Shahbaz Ahmed’s very good all-round present gave Bengal a glimmer of hope at the same time as Madhya Pradesh firmly held the upper-hand on the penultimate day of the Ranji Trophy semi-final in Alur on Friday. On a troublesome fourth day pitch, the India A batter appeared flawless and milked the sector comfortable, slamming six fours in his 104-ball knock as Bengal have been precariously positioned at 96 for 4, needing one other 254 runs to achieve the stiff profitable goal of 350.

Madhya Pradesh, then again, want six wickets in pursuit of their first Ranji ultimate after 23 years because the match is headed for an exhilarating ultimate day end on Saturday.

Mumbai Indians’ left-arm spinner Kumar Kartikeya did the utmost injury for Madhya Pradesh.

He held on to his finish, bowling 19 overs continuous to finish the day with figures of three/35 to leap to joint-second within the high wicket-takers’ checklist this season with Jharkhand’s Shahbaz Nadeem (25).

Mumbai left-arm spinner Shams Mulani leads the checklist with 37 wickets.

Giving Abhimanyu firm on the different finish was the outdated warhorse Anustup Majumdar, unbeaten on 8 from 25 balls after he was dropped all the way down to No 6 in a tactical transfer.

Bengal even have a succesful batter in Shahbaz ready within the dressing room however it will be an onerous process on a fifth day pitch because the odd ball has began staying low and a few deliveries turning sq..

Sloppy umpiring and lack of DRS in Ranji Trophy additionally let down Bengal as they misplaced the wicket of an in-form Sudip Gharami (19) given lbw by umpire Ravikant Reddy who failed to note the ball hitting his glove to a Saransh Jain supply which was additionally out of the road.

Abhishek Raman continued his forgettable outing this season, getting out for a second successive duck — this day without work the primary ball — as Bengal acquired off to a jittery begin of their stiff chase of 350.

Abhimanyu on the different finish checked out ease and batted with optimistic intent with Gharami earlier than his companion departed within the twelfth over.

Bengal nonetheless had luck of their favour additionally and Abhimanyu survived on 31 when a Kartikeya supply kissed his off stump but it surely was not sufficient to dislodge the bail.

Wicketkeeper-batter Abhishek Porel (7) was promoted to No 4 however he didn’t make use of the chance as he was executed in by one which turned in sharply.

First innings centurion Tiwary acquired a reprieve on six however he additionally couldn’t make use of it and in his desperation to get going got here down the monitor however didn’t get correct elevation off Kartikeya’s bowling.

Earlier, it was Shahbaz Ahmed who did a star all-rounder act and have become the fifth from Bengal to attain a century in addition to take a fifer in the identical match for Bengal.

BCCI president Sourav Ganguly was the final from Bengal to attain the feat in opposition to Maharashtra in 2005.

Shahbaz adopted up his maiden first-class century (116) within the first innings with a splendid 5/79, sharing 9 wickets together with his fellow left-arm spinner Pradipta Pramanik (4/65).

Using on duo’s efficiency, Bengal bowled out Madhya Pradesh for 281 runs of their second essay, from being in a single day 163/2 and their final 5 batters may add solely 65 runs.

Shahbaz denied his RCB teammate Rajat Patidar (79) a second hundred this season, when he trapped him plumb in-front to interrupt the imposing century-plus in a single day partnership.

MP skipper Aditya Shrivastava appeared extra aggressive this morning and batted with urgency however Shahbaz’s breakthrough triggered a collapse.

Within the house of 4 overs, the left-arm spinner cleaned up 18-year-old Akshat Raghuwanshi, contemporary from his attacking half-century within the first innings.

Pradipta Pramanik then got here to the fore and earned a 3rd wicket for Bengal this morning when he dismissed Saransh Jain (11) caught by Shahbaz at foolish level.


Temporary Scores: Madhya Pradesh 341 and 281; 114.2 overs (Aditya Shrivastava 82, Rajat Patidar 79; Shahbaz Ahmed 5/79, Pradipta Pramanik 4/65).

Bengal 273 and 96/4; 37 overs (Abhimanyu Easwaran 52 batting; Kumar Kartikeya 3/35).

Subjects talked about on this article

Articles You May Like

Morant agrees to massive extension with Grizz
Mike Tyson-Evander Holyfield 2 — The infamous ‘bite fight’ 25 years later
India Women vs Sri Lanka Women, 1st ODI Live Score Updates: India On Top After Picking 2 Wickets Quickly
Bale completes LAFC move on year-long contract
Spain DQ’d from WC after appeal dismissed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.